Skip to main content
Avi SantoDepartment Chairasanto@unc.edu
Michael PalmMichael PalmDirector of Graduate Studies mpalm@unc.edu
Sarah DempseyDirector of Graduate Admissions sedempse@email.unc.edu
Steve MaySteve MayDirector of Undergraduate Studiesskmay@email.unc.edu
Renee Alexander CraftAssociate Chair/Director of Outreach and Community Engagementrenee.alexander.craft@unc.edu
Olivia Kirby Hopkins
Graduate Student Services Manager
Bynum 308C919-962-2498
okirby@email.unc.edu
Jonah Hodge
Registrar/Undergraduate Student Services Manager
Bynum 308E
919-962-4985
jchodge@email.unc.edu
Ning Sun
Business Officer
Bynum 308Bnsun@unc.edu
Mark Robinson
MAS Lab Director & Lecturer
108 East Franklin St. #108919-843-6519
mrobin@email.unc.edu
Will Bosley
Technical Director for Performance Studies
108 East Franklin St. #120wbosley@unc.edu
Multi Media Technician108 East Franklin St. #116
Rahul Bhat
Administrative Support Associate
Bynum 308919-962-2311
rbhat@unc.edu

COMM Faculty:

Renee Alexander CraftRenee Alexander Craftrenee.alexander.craft@unc.eduPerformance Studies, Cultural Studies
Bill Brownbrownwa@live.unc.eduMedia Production
Michael Acosta Michael Acostamacosta@email.unc.eduInterim Director of Writing for Stage & Screen Minor
Lisa Calventelcalvente@unc.eduPerformance Studies
Cori DauberCori E. Daubercdauber@email.unc.eduRhetorical Studies
Sarah Dempseysedempse@email.unc.eduInterpersonal & Organizational Communication
Julia HaslettJulia Haslettjhaslett@unc.eduMedia Production
Avatar ImageKristin Hondros - Department Advisor hondros@email.unc.eduMedia Production
Christian LundbergChristian O. Lundbergclundber@email.unc.eduRhetorical Studies, Cultural Studies
Kevin MarinelliKevin Marinellikmarinelli@unc.eduRhetorical Studies
Alice Marwickamarwick@unc.eduMedia & Technology Studies
Steve May Steve Mayskmay@email.unc.eduInterpersonal & Organizational Communication
Joseph MegelJoseph Megelmegel@email.unc.eduPerformance Studies, Media Production
Torin MonahanTorin Monahantorin.monahan@unc.eduMedia & Technology Studies
David Monjemonje@email.unc.eduMedia & Technology Studies
Michael Palm Michael Palm mpalm@email.unc.eduMedia & Technology Studies, Cultural Studies
Patricia Parker Patricia Parkerpsparker@email.unc.eduInterpersonal & Organizational Communication
Tony PerucciTony Perucci perucci@unc.eduPerformance Studies, Cultural Studies
Ed RankusEdward Rankusrankus@email.unc.eduMedia Production
Mark Robinson
mrobin@email.unc.eduMAS Lab Director & Lecturer
Joyce RudinskyJoyce Rudinskyrudinsky@unc.eduMedia Production, New Media Track
Avi Santoasanto@unc.eduMedia & Technology Studies
Aaron ShapiroAaron Shapiroaaron.shapiro@unc.eduMedia & Technology Studies
Kumi Silvakumi@email.unc.eduInterpersonal & Organizational Communication, Cultural Studies
Katie Strileykstriley@unc.eduInterpersonal & Organizational Communication
Michael Waltman Michael Waltman waltmanm@email.unc.eduInterpersonal & Organizational Communication

Visiting Professors & Lecturers:

Howard L. Craftsamurai7@email.unc.edu
Jim Lampleyjameslampley49@gmail.com

Adjunct Professors:

Robert C. Allen American Studiesrallen@email.unc.edu
Gregory FlaxmanEnglish & Comparative Literaturegflax@email.unc.edu
Mark KatzMusicmkatz@email.unc.edu
Daniel KreissSchool of Media & Journalismdkreiss@email.unc.edu
Chérie Rivers NdalikoMusicndaliko@unc.edu
Christopher T. NelsonAnthropologyctnelson@email.unc.edu
John Pickles Geography jpickles@email.unc.edu
Barry SaundersSocial Medicinebarry_saunders@med.unc.edu
Randall StyersReligious Studiesrstyers@unc.edu

Professors Emeriti:

Bill Balthrop V. William (Bill) Balthropvwb@email.unc.edu
Carole BlairCarole Blaircblair1@email.unc.edu
Robbie CoxRobbie Coxrcox1@live.unc.edu
Paul FergusonPaul Ferguson pferguso@unc.edu
Ken HillisKen Hilliskhillis@email.unc.edu
Gotham "Hap" KindemGorham Kindemkindemg@email.unc.edu
Lawrence GrossbergLawrence Grossbergdocrock@email.unc.eduMedia & Technology Studies, Cultural Studies
Beverly LongBeverly Longlongchapin@mac.com
Dennie MumbyDennis Mumbymumby@email.unc.edu
Lawrence B. RosenfeldLawrence Rosenfeldlbr@unc.edu
David SontagDavid Sontagsontag@email.unc.edu
Francesca TalentiFrancesca Talenti talenti@email.unc.edu
Julia T. WoodJulia T. Wood - Lineberger Professor of Humanities Emeritajwood1@email.unc.edu