Skip to main content

Class of 2023 Doctoral and Master’s Graduates

May 15, 2023

We are pleased to announce the Class of 2023 Doctors of Philosophy in Communication and Master in Cultural Studies.   Shanice Cameron, PhD Locating the Everyday: Black Women, Well-Being, and Digital Media Pat Parker, Advisor   Kiara Childs, PhD Black … Continued

2023 Department of Communication Commencement

May 9, 2023

The Department of Communication will hold a department commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 13th from 6:00-8:00PM in the Dean Smith Center. Please review the frequently asked questions below. If you haven’t found an answer for your question, please email the … Continued

2023 Student Awards List and Photo Gallery

May 1, 2023

Awards List Award Name: Outstanding Achievement in Interpersonal & Organizational Communication Presented By: Katie Striley Award Winners: Mary Elizabeth Elliott and Mackenzie Holland   Award Name: Lucia Morgan Award Presented By: Sarah Dempsey Award Winner: Dafna Kaufman   Award Name: … Continued

2023 Department Commencement Speaker Alum Sam Hargrave

April 19, 2023

UNC’s Department of Communication announces filmmaker and UNC Alum Sam Hargrave as the department commencement’s speaker on Saturday, May 13. The ceremony will take place in the Dean Smith Center from 6:00-8:00pm. Sam Hargrave is most recently known for directing … Continued

Celebrate the Latest Department Recognitions

March 29, 2023

The Department of Communication encourages submissions to recognize students, faculty and staff for their achievement in communication. Please submit recognitions here. ____________________________________________________________________ Megan Foster Accepted as one of the six incoming Townsend Fellows as part of the Southern Futures program. … Continued

In the Room: Women of Color Doulas in a Time of Crisis

March 28, 2023

Wednesday, April 19th 5:30-7:30pm in Caldwell Hall 105   The Department of Communication will host “In the Room: Women of Color Doulas in a Time of Crisis” with Dr. Jennifer C. Nash, the Jean Fox O’Barr Professor of Gender, Sexuality, and … Continued