Skip to main content

Several communication faculty members were recently recognized and awarded for their excellence in teaching, research, engagement and more.


Joseph Megel
Professor Joseph Megel

Professor Joseph Megel is the recipient of the Tanner Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.

From The Center for Faculty Excellence: The awards were created in 1952 with a bequest by Kenneth Spencer Tanner, class of 1911, and his sister, Sara Tanner Crawford (and by them on behalf of their deceased brothers, Simpson Bobo Tanner, Jr. and Jesse Spencer Tanner), establishing an endowment fund in memory of their parents, Lola Spencer and Simpson Bobo Tanner. The award was established to recognize excellence in inspirational teaching of undergraduate students, particularly first- and second-year students.





Dr. Michael Palm

Dr. Michael Palm is the recipient of the 2024 J. Carlyle Sitterson Award for Teaching First-Year Students.

From The Center of Faculty Excellence: These awards were created in 1998 by the family of the late J. Carlyle Sitterson to recognize excellence in teaching first-year students by a tenured or tenure-track faculty member in the College of Arts and Sciences.






Professor Julia Haslett

Professor Julia Haslett is the recipient of the 2024-2025 Senior Faculty Research and Scholarly Leave Award.

From The Office of the Provost: The Provost’s Office accepts applications each year for competitive Senior Faculty Research and Scholarly Leaves funded by Kenan, Pogue, William R. Kenan, Jr., William N. Reynolds, and Reynolds Industries, Inc. Award recipients receive one semester of scholarly leave and a $4,000 research fund.





Dr. Kumi Silva

Dr. Kumi Silva has been named the Caroline H. and Thomas S. Royster Distinguished Professor for Graduate Education.

From The Graduate School: This 3-year term professorship recognizes the contributions of Dr. and Mrs. Thomas S. Royster to the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and to The Graduate School as the founders and benefactors of the Royster Society of Fellows.





Dr. Patricia Parker

Dr. Patricia Parker is the recipient of the prestigious 2024 IDEA Engagement Award.

From The National Communication Association: The IDEA Engagement Award began in 2021 and offers recognition for efforts and activities to engage communities in work that enhances inclusion, diversity, equity, or access. Such engagement may be evaluated by the direct impacts or effects of such engagement (measured in different ways), or on sustainability and empowerment work that ensures change over the long term. This work may reflect the application of communication theories, pedagogy, or direct action to create positive community change.






Dr. Sarah Dempsey

Dr. Sarah Dempsey is the recipient of the 2024 Distinguished Teaching Awards for Post-Baccalaureate Instruction.


From The Center of Faculty Excellence: This award was first given by the University in 1995 to recognize the important role of post-baccalaureate teaching.







Michael Waltman

Dr. Michael Waltman is the recipient of the 2024 William C. Friday/Class of 1986 Award for Excellence in Teaching.


From The Center of Faculty Excellence: The award was created by members of the 1986 graduating class to recognize members of the faculty who exemplified excellence in inspirational teaching. The award is named in honor of William C. Friday, who devoted a lifetime of service to the University as President of the UNC System.







Comments are closed.