Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Closer Than They Appear

September 14, 2017 @ 8:00 pm - 10:00 pm

|Recurring Event (See all)

An event every week that begins at 8:00 pm on Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday, repeating until September 30, 2017

An event every week that begins at 3:00 pm on Sunday and Thursday, repeating until October 1, 2017

UNC Department of Communication
Presents
The 2017 – 2018 Swain Studio 6 Performance Series

Closer Than They Appear
By Christine Evans, Media Design by Jared Mezzocchi, Directed by Joseph Megel
A World Premiere Co-Production with StreetSigns Center for Literature and Performance
(Previously titled: You Are Dead. You Are Here. Originally developed in the Process Series, 2011)

Closer Than They Appear tells the colliding stories of Michael, an African American veteran undergoing virtual reality therapy for PTSD, and Zaynab, a teenager from Fallujah blogging during the Iraq war. It explores the haunted human lives—both American and Iraqi—that shadow the digital surfaces through which we wage, view, and recover from war. The play blends scripted live performance with projections developed from the animated landscapes of Virtual Iraq, a virtual-reality program based on video-game graphics and developed as a therapy tool for US veterans suffering from PTSD by the Institute for Creative Technologies at USC. A first for the Process Series, Closer Than They Appear is a full production of a work originally developed in the Series.

Tickets for this event are $15/$20 for students, $15 for Senior citizens, and $10 for active military. Tickets available at www.processseries.unc.edu/ticketing. This will be the only paid ticketed event of the season.

Dates & Locations

Show Dates – All shows performed at Swain Hall in Studio 6:

Sept. 14 through Oct. 1; Wed.-Sat. @ 8:00 p.m., Sun @ 3:00 p.m. – Swain Hall, Studio 6

Thursday, September 14 @ 8pm
Friday, September 15 @ 8pm
Saturday, September 16 @ 8pm
Sunday, September 17 @ 3pm

Wednesday, September 20 @ 8pm
Thursday, September 21 @ 8pm
Friday, September 22 @ 8pm
Saturday, September 23 @ 8pm
Sunday, September 24 @ 3pm

Wednesday, September 27 @ 8pm
Thursday, September 28 @ 8pm
Friday, September 29 @ 8pm
Saturday, September 30 @ 8pm
Sunday, October 1 @ 3pm

 

Details

Date:
September 14, 2017
Time:
8:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Website:
http://www.processseries.unc.edu/ticketing

Venue

Studio 6
101 E Cameron Ave
Chapel Hill, NC 27514 United States
Phone:
919-843-5666
Website:
comm.unc.edu

Organizers

UNC Chapel Hill Department of Communication
StreetSigns Center for Literature and Performance