Through teaching, research and service, the Department of Communication: addresses the many ways communication functions to create, sustain, and transform personal life, social relations, political institutions, economic organizations, and cultural and aesthetic conventions in society; promotes competencies required for various modes of mediated and non-mediated communication; and develops skills for analyzing, interpreting and critiquing communication
problems and questions.

The Department of Communication includes 30 faculty, 50 graduate students and over 800 undergraduate majors. The Department and personnel are recognized for significant contributions to the profession and to the University, state, and nation.

The Department of Communication supports the University’s core values encouraging diversity and equal educational and employment opportunities throughout the University community. These values are articulated in the University’s non-discrimination policy and by the office of Diversity and Multicultural Affairs.


Mission               ♦ Principles of Community              ♦ Statement of Diversity


Department of Communication:
Bingham Hall
Campus Box 3285
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3285

Office: 919-962-2311
Fax: 919-962-3305

Quick Links: